Tel: +41 79 179 58 11

Email: carmen@carmenlopez.co

www.carmenlopez.co

Carmen López Hernández

Lic. Phil. Psychologist

Master in Human Resources

Netstalerstrasse 25

8753 Mollis

Switzerland

© 2014-2019 by CARMEN LÓPEZ

What does a psychologist in my company? 

 

It's simple: A lot of the company's problems take place on the head of their workers and managers before they get to the income statement. Let's take a look to some examples:

Carmen López

Psychologist. Master in Human Resources.

Problem 1:

Communication management

Before a key employee goes to our competitor she has been thinking about it for a while. Before thinking about it there has been a reason behind. And this reason behind has probably began with a little incident. What if we could know WHAT incident? What if the solution was just telling her how important is her last project for the company? If you could with a sentence save the cost of losing a key employee, How much would you pay for those words?

 

Solution: The psychology of course doesn't let us read other's minds, but can detect the signs of unsatisfaction. Psychology allows us to create environments where the employees can express their doubts and frustrations. This way you can look for solutions to the conflicts before it costs money.

 

Problem 2.

Emotions management.

Economy are numbers, money, maths, all of them concepts controlled by the prefrontal cortex, the part of our brain that most diferentiates us from the rest of the animals. In the blink of an an eye we are able to master consciously our brain to make a mathematical operation, controlling the prozess all the way long. But everything starts with the behaviours and the emotions, and they are not so easy to master. Try this: Next time you're angry, try not to be angry in an instant. You won't be able to do it though you are about to ruin an important business meeting. Emotion defeats reason and negative emotions like fear, anger and anxiety are the most dificult to control.

 

Solution: Psychologists know that the best solution to this problem is to control the emotion before it appears, identifying the signals. Throught training you can get that skill and save a lot of problems in the office, and at home.

 

Case 3.

Change Management

Imagine that creativity has become a major competitive advantage to face an ambiguous market that changes rapidly. Imagine that your "Total quality" statement doesn't properly serve the demands of your customers. That statement lead you to success in the past, but today it threatens to make your company irrelevant. How to go from a Zero-Error mentality to a Continuous-Innovation one?

 

Solution: Psychology uses different strategies in this case, but one of the more important is the change of leadership style. You must cheer errors instead penalizing them. You have to encourage risk taking, and you have to communicate it to your employees or team. To get to that point you and your people have to change behaviors and learn to react differently to failure. The change has to come from above, from managers and directors. The most important thing is not what you say to your people, but what you DO and how you REACT. You are the role model for all of them. The psychologist can work with the behaviors and emotions of the leaders so they can transmit that change to all the people.

 

Psychology is a very powerful tool. Working with behaviors and emotions you can get a better work climate, more enhanced focus to the company goals, more satisfaction and motivation of your team. And at the end it is reflected on the income statement.

Tel: +41 79 179 58 11

Email: carmen@carmenlopez.co

www.carmenlopez.co

Carmen López Hernández

Lic. Phil. Psychologist

Master in Human Resources

Netstalerstrasse 25

8753 Mollis

Switzerland

© 2014-2019 by CARMEN LÓPEZ

Was macht eine Psychologin in meiner Firma?

Sehr einfach: Viele Probleme von Firmen befinden sich zunächst in den Köpfen ihrer Mitarbeiter und Manager, bevor sie in der Bilanz erscheinen. Bei diesen Emotionen und Verhaltensweisen anzusetzen, kann viel Geld, Energie und Zeit sparen. Schauen wir uns einige Beispiele an.

Carmen López

Psychologin. Master in Human Resources.

Situation 1. Kommunikationsmanagenment

Bevor ein wichtiger Mitarbeiter zur Konkurrenz wechselt, hat er über dieses Thema lange nachgedacht. Zuvor gab es eine Ursache. Und diese Ursache kann durch eine scheinbar unbedeutende Kleinigkeit ausgelöst worden sein. Was, wenn wir diese Kleinigkeit erkannt hätten? Was, wenn die Lösung gewesen wäre, dem Mitarbeiter zu sagen, wie wichtig er für das letzte Projekt der Firma gewesen ist? Nur ein Satz könnte die Unkosten, verursacht durch das Ausscheiden eines talentierten Mitarbeiters, sparen... Wie viel würden Sie zahlen, um die richtigen Worte im richtigen Moment zu wissen?

 

Lösung: Die Psychologie kann natürlich nicht Gedanken lesen, aber die Signale von Unzufriedenheit erkennen. Die Psychologie erlaubt ein Ambiente zu schaffen, wo Mitarbeiter ihre Zweifel und Frustrationen äussern können. So kann man Lösungen für Konflikte finden, bevor sie Geld kosten.

 

Situation 2.

Emotionenmanagenment

Wirtschaft sind Ziffern, Geld, Mathematik, alles Konzepte, die durch den präfrontalen Kortex gesteuert werden. Das ist das Teil unseres Gehirns, durch welchen wir uns am meisten von Tieren unterschieden. In einem Sekundenbruchteil können wir unser Gehirn steuern, eine mathematische Rechnung zu machen. Wir kontrollieren den Prozess. Aber was ist mit unserem Verhalten und unseren Emotionen, die sind bekanntlich nicht so einfach zu kontrollieren. Probieren Sie mal: Das nächste Mal wenn Sie wütend sind, versuchen Sie sich innerhalb einer Sekunde zu beruhigen. Sie werden es nicht können, sogar wenn daraufhin eine wichtige Geschäftsbesprechung scheitern könnte. Gefühle siegen oft über Verstand und besonders die negativen Emotionen wie Angst, Sorge oder Wut sind die am schwierigsten zu kontrollierenden. 

 

Lösung: Psychologen wissen, dass die beste Lösung ist, die Gefühle durch ihre Signale zu identifizieren, bevor sie an die Oberfäche kommen. Durch gezielte Übungen kann man dies erreichen und sich viele Probleme bei der Arbeit  und ... zu Hause sparen.

 

Situation 3.

Changemanagenment

Kreativität ist zum Schlüssel geworden, um sich einem schnell verändernden Markt stellen zu können. Die bisherige absolute Qualitätspolitik ist nicht mehr gültig. Vielleicht Sie haben vorher mit dieser Philosophie gewonnen, aber heute kann es Ihre Firma ruinieren. Wie ändern Sie sich von einer Null-Fehler-Mentalität zu einer modernen Innovations-Mentalität? 

 

Lösung: Die Psychologie nutzt eine Kombination von verschiedenen Strategien in diesem Fall, eine beinhaltet jedoch eine Änderung in der Unternehensführung. Wo zuvor Fehler kritisiert wurden, werden sie jetzt akzeptiert. Man muss die Risikomentalität mehr fördern, und sie den  Mitarbeitern klarmachen. Wir müssen unser Verhalten überdenken und anders auf Fehler reagieren. Veränderung müssen oben anfangen, bei Managern und Chefs. Das wichtigste ist nicht was Sie sagen, sondern was Sie machen und wie Sie reagieren. Sie sind das Vorbild für alle anderen und müssen durch die Kontrolle von Emotionen und Verhalten diese Änderungen an die Mitarbeiter vermitteln können.

 

Die Psychologie ist ein sehr mächtiges Werkzeug. Der Arbeit mit Emotionen und Verhalten kann vieles bewirken: Besseres Arbeitsklima, mehr Zielgerichtetheit, mehr Zufriedenheit und Motivation im Team. Zum Schluss erscheint dies in der Bilanz.