Tel: +41 79 179 58 11

Email: carmen@carmenlopez.co

www.carmenlopez.co

Carmen López Hernández

Lic. Phil. Psychologist

Master in Human Resources

Netstalerstrasse 25

8753 Mollis

Switzerland

© 2014-2019 by CARMEN LÓPEZ

Change!

Photo Selected by freepik http://www.freepik.com

Carmen López

Psicóloga. Master en Recursos Humanos.

 

In 2007 Gaillot and other sciencists from Florida state University and Schmeichel from Texas A&M University carried out an experiment with 101 people. The subjects had to maintain their attention on a video 6 minutes long trying to avoid the words that were appearing in the corner of the screen as a distraction. Our brain is designed to detect subtle changes in the environment automatically, so trying to supress that instinct requires a high level of will power. Avoiding to look at the words was an exhausting excercise: After the experiment the average glucose level in the blood of the participants dropped from 107 to 101 and their performance in the next exercise dropped even more.

 

Selfcontrol consumes a lot of energy and that energy comes from the glucose, a limited resource in our body. Ultimately our willpower gives up and our focus is diverted. It's unbearable, it's biological. With a balanced diet, eating at least five times a day we can stretch our selfcontrol, but just up to a point. We all have experienced the exhaustion at the end of a day in which we had to make a lot of important decisions. In that moment we were using our energy reserves.

 

The most important changes imply learning, change of habits and change of behaviors.

 

Changing the way we are is very difficult and leaving it up to just will power will reduce our chances to succeed. Will power is a limited resource as we have seen before and that's why often diets fail, we cannot learn a new language or we keep on smoking.

 

Does it mean that change is not possible? Of course not. Every day we meet people who learn a new language, start jogging, cut a bad habit or lowered their stress level. The adaptation's capacity of the human being is fantastic, it has lead us to spread over the planet and survive in hostile environments like deserts, the polar circle or even the space.

 

The key to a lasting change: People who change don't use just their will power. They change their environment too. If you are everyday in the same place, doing the same things with the same people it's really difficult to change. If you want to learn English, you have to go to England and live with an English family. If you want to lose weight, your are more likely to achieve it if you leave home and go to a clinic where they give you exactly what you have to eat and they schedule group sport. If you want to learn, go to the university. Most of the times when you have experienced a big change in your life, your environment had changed. In those moments you had people around walking with you towards the same goal, you had a mentor, psychologist, teacher or relative who has guided your steps. You were in other place. You had leave behind your comfort zone.

 

Want to change? Change your environment.

Tel: +41 79 179 58 11

Email: carmen@carmenlopez.co

www.carmenlopez.co

Carmen López Hernández

Lic. Phil. Psychologist

Master in Human Resources

Netstalerstrasse 25

8753 Mollis

Switzerland

© 2014-2019 by CARMEN LÓPEZ

Ändere!

Photo Selected by freepik http://www.freepik.com

Carmen López

Psicóloga. Master en Recursos Humanos.

In 2007 Gailliot und andere Wissenschaftler der Florida State Universität und Schmeichel von Texas A&M Universität durchgeführten ein Experiment mit 101 Personen. Die Leute mussten ihre Aufmerksamkeit auf einen Film während sechs Minuten richten und sie mussten vermeiden die Worte anzuschauen, die an der Ecke vom Schirm auftauchten um sie abzulenken. Unser Gehirn ist entworfen um die unerwarteten Änderungen in der Umgebung automatisch zu schauen und es ist schwierig zu beseitigen, weil es eine große Dosis des Willens erfordert. Es war eine anstrengende Übung: nach dem Experiment ist der Blutzuckerspiegel der Teilnehmer im Durchschnitt von 107 auf 101 gesunken und ihre Leistung in der folgenden Aufgabe ist noch mehr gefallen.

 

Die Selbstbeherrschung verbraucht viel Energie wie Glukose und die ist ein begrenztes Hilfsmittel in unserem Körper. Am Ende lässt unser Wille nach und wir lenken die Blickpunkte um.

Es ist unvermeidbar, es ist etwas biologisches. Mit einer guten Ernährung, die in mindestens fünf Essen pro Tag verteilt wird, können wir unsere Selbstbeherrschung kontrollieren, aber nur bis zu einen bestimmten Punkt. Alle haben die Erschöpfung am Ende des Tages experimentiert, in dem wir wichtige Entscheidungen getroffen haben. In diesem Moment benutzen wir unsere Reserven der Brennstoffe.

 

Die wichtigsten Änderungen beinhalten Lernen, Änderungen der Gewohnheiten und des Verhaltens. 

 

Eine Änderung in unserem Leben zu erreichen, ist schwierig und wenn wir nur die Willenskraft nutzen um sie zu erreichen, bedeutet es unsere Möglichkeiten des Erfolgs nehmen ab.  Der Wille ist ein begrenztes Mittel, wie wir schon gesehen haben, deshalb schlagen vielmals die Diäten fehl,  lernen wir nicht eine Sprache oder rauchen wir weiter.

 

Bedeutet das, dass die Änderung unmöglich ist? Natürlich nicht. Täglich sehen wir Menschen, die eine neue Sprache lernen, einen Sport anfangen, eine schlechte Gewohnheit aufhören oder  ihr Stressniveau wird gesenkt. 

 

Der Schlüssel um die Möglichkeiten des Erfolgs zu multiplizieren, wenn wir uns verändern wollen, ist der folgende: Die Leute, die ändern, benutzen den Willen, aber sie ändern auch ihre Umgebung. Wenn du englisch lernen willst, gehe nach England. Wenn du Gewicht abnehmen willst, gehe aus dem Haus und gehe zu einer Klinik, wo dir die Ernährung kontrolliert wird und du Sport treibst. Wenn du studieren willst, gehe zur Universität. Meistens, wenn du eine Erfahrung der Änderung gehabt hast, ist sie gewesen, wenn deine Umgebung sich verändert hat. Du hast dich von Leuten umgeben, die zum gleichen Ziel laufen, du hast einen Mentor gehabt, einen Psychologen, Lehrer oder Verwandte, die deine Schritte geführt haben und du aus der Komfort-Zone gegangen bist. Wenn du am gleichen Ort bleibst, und die gleichen Sachen mit den gleichen Menschen machst, ist es schwierig, dass etwas in deinem Leben sich verändert.

 

Willst du dich verändern? ändere deine Umgebung.