Tel: +41 79 179 58 11

Email: carmen@carmenlopez.co

www.carmenlopez.co

Carmen López Hernández

Lic. Phil. Psychologist

Master in Human Resources

Netstalerstrasse 25

8753 Mollis

Switzerland

© 2014-2019 by CARMEN LÓPEZ

Photo Selected by freepik http://www.freepik.com

Emotional or 

Rational Leadership?

Carmen López

Psychologist. Master in Human Resources.

 

Who is more effective, an emotional leader or a rational one? 

Let's do an experiment together: Look at this face! 

 

Your brain has quickly recognized this expression, has judged it to be "a threat”. An emotion of fear, anger or shame arises and with it a defensive or fleeing behavior. 

 

Let's go to experiment 2. Now I would like you to try to resolve this multiplication mentally: 

 

17 x 79 

 

At this moment your pupils are dilated, your pulse increases 7 beats per minute and you have all your attention in the problem. It is impossible to focus on any other stimuli at the same time. 

 

In both exercises you face a problem. In the first one we use emotion. Our reaction is automatic and fast. In the second we use reason, a different neural circuit that needs more energy and more time to get things done. The curious thing is that the emotional and rational networks cannot act at the same time. When we use one, the other is deactivated. 

 

These two neural networks are identified with two types of leadership: emotional leadership and rational leadership. The emotional leader focuses on changing behaviors, motivating and engaging people toward a goal. The rational leader focuses on analysis, strategy and results. 

 

Who is more effective, an emotional leader or a rational one? 

 

The question is tricky, because the most effective leaders know how to use the two networks according to the circumstances, and change quickly from one to the other, from emotion to reason, to achieve the goals. 

 

Analyze what type of leader you are, look for your weak point (emotional or rational) and train that neural network to achieve maximum effectiveness in your leadership. You will improve your impact on your team and get the financial goals you are looking for.

Tel: +41 79 179 58 11

Email: carmen@carmenlopez.co

www.carmenlopez.co

Carmen López Hernández

Lic. Phil. Psychologist

Master in Human Resources

Netstalerstrasse 25

8753 Mollis

Switzerland

© 2014-2019 by CARMEN LÓPEZ

Photo Selected by freepik http://www.freepik.com

Emotionale oder 

rationale Führung?

Carmen López

Psychologist. Master in Human Resources.

 

 

Wer ist effektiver, der emotionale oder der rationale Leader? 

Lassen Sie uns gemeinsam ein Experiment machen: Sehen Sie sich dieses Gesicht an!

 

Ihr Gehirn hat diesen Ausdruck schnell erkannt, hat ihn als "Bedrohung" beurteilt, es entsteht ein Gefühl von Angst, Wut oder Scham und damit ein defensives oder flüchtiges Verhalten. 

 

Gehen wir zu Experiment 2. Jetzt möchte ich, dass Sie versuchen, diese Rechnung im Kopf zu lösen, 

 

17 x 79 

 

In diesem Moment erweitern sich ihre Pupillen, Ihr Puls geht bis zu 7 Schläge pro Minute mehr und Sie haben Ihre ganze Aufmerksamkeit auf der Rechnung. Es ist unmöglich, sich gleichzeitig auf andere Reize zu konzentrieren. 

 

In beiden Übungen haben wir ein Problem konfrontiert. Im ersten Fall verwenden wir Emotionen - unsere Reaktion ist automatisch und schnell. In der zweiten verwenden wir die Vernunft, einen anderen neuronalen Schaltkreis, der mehr Energie und mehr Zeit benötigt. Das Merkwürdige ist, dass emotionale und rationale Netzwerke nicht gleichzeitig handeln können. Wenn wir eines verwenden, deaktiviert sich das andere. 

 

Diese beiden neuronalen Netze werden mit zwei Arten von Führung identifiziert: emotionale Führung und rationale Führung. Der emotionale Leader konzentriert sich auf die Veränderung des Verhaltens, der Motivation und der Bindung seiner Mitarbeiter zu einem Ziel. Der rationale Leader konzentriert sich auf die Analyse, die Strategie und die Ergebnisse. 

 

Wer ist effektiver, der emotionale oder der rationale Leader? 

 

Das ist eine Fangfrage, denn die effektivsten Führungskräfte wissen, wie man beide Netzwerke je nach Bedarf einsetzt. Sie können schnell von einem zum anderen wechseln, von Emotion zur Vernunft, um die Ziele zu erreichen. 

 

Analysieren Sie, welche Art von Führungskraft Sie sind, suchen Sie nach Ihrem Schwachpunkt (emotional oder rational) und trainieren Sie dieses neuronale Netzwerk, um eine maximale Effektivität in Ihrer Führung zu erreichen. So, verbessern Sie Ihren Einfluss auf Ihr Team und erreichen die gesuchten wirtschaftlichen Ziele.