Tel: +41 79 179 58 11

Email: carmen@carmenlopez.co

www.carmenlopez.co

Carmen López Hernández

Lic. Phil. Psychologist

Master in Human Resources

Netstalerstrasse 25

8753 Mollis

Switzerland

© 2014-2019 by CARMEN LÓPEZ

Carmen López

Psychologin. Master in Human Resources.

 

Companies that exclude job applicants on demographic and social grounds miss a great opportunity to recruit the talent they need for the company. Immigrants, over 50 and women have different skills that are difficult to find in other groups. 

 

One of the most important activities of a company is the hiring of capable personnel. Hired employees bring with them their education, experience and personality and use their talent to shape the company's future. "War for Talent", a concept invented by Steven Hankin in 1997, reflects today's difficulty in finding the best. 

 

Discrimination makes no sense

 

One way to find talent is to look where the competition is not looking. Below are three demographic groups that make a difference in comparison with other companies:

 

First, people over 50: people live longer and have better health. This enables them to be fit and work longer. People over 50 actually have skills their younger colleagues don't have. The "Cogito-Study" of 2010 (1) shows that the productivity of older people is more even than that of younger. Older people have a greater ability to concentrate on the task, are more predictable and balance the physical and mental changes of age with their experience. Peter Capelli, Professor at the Wharton School of Business, says: "All aspects of work performance improve with age. Discrimination against older people in the labour market makes no sense." 

 

Using the skills of immigrants 

 

Second, the immigrants: Globally, immigrants have a higher company-grounding rate than nationals of the host country (2). William R. Kerr and Sari Pekkala of Harvard Business School show that immigrant businesses in the US are growing faster and are more likely to survive in the long run than those run only by natives (3). 

Immigrants have high adaptability, experience with different cultures, speak different languages and feel more comfortable with challenges. Companies can take advantage of these skills when hiring immigrants. 

 

Women as guarantors of success 

 

Three, the women: Having women in management positions makes an important difference in the economy. According to a Catalyst study, companies with more women on the board receive on average 66 percent more return on invested capital (4). Employees who work for a woman are more involved in their work (33 percent versus 27 percent) than those who have a man as their boss (5). 

 

Becoming competitive

 

Migrants and men and women over 50 have unique skills to succeed in business. The search for these demographic groups is an opportunity to build more competitive businesses. 

 

(1) Cogito Study: https://www.ncbi.nlm. nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC2914582/
(2) https://www.gemconsortium.org/re- port/48545 

(3) https://www.hbs.edu/faculty/Publi- cation%20Files/17-011_da2c1cf4-a999- 4159-ab95-457c783e3fff.pdf
(4) https://www.catalyst.org/system/ files/The_Bottom_Line_Corporate_Per- formance_and_Womens_Representati- on_on_Boards.pdf 

(5) https://news.gallup.com/business- journal/183026/female-bosses-enga- ging-male-bosses.aspx 

Hidden talents on the job market: 

three strategies to find the best people.

Tel: +41 79 179 58 11

Email: carmen@carmenlopez.co

www.carmenlopez.co

Carmen López Hernández

Lic. Phil. Psychologist

Master in Human Resources

Netstalerstrasse 25

8753 Mollis

Switzerland

© 2014-2019 by CARMEN LÓPEZ

Carmen López

Psychologist. Master in Human Resources.

Unternehmen, die Stellenbewerber aufgrund demografischer und sozialer Merkmale ausschliessen, verpassen eine grosse Chance, die benötigten Talente für das Unternehmen zu rekrutieren. Einwanderer, Leute über 50 Jahre und Frauen  verfügen über verschiedene Fähigkeiten, die in anderen Gruppen schwer zu finden sind. 

 

Eine der Wichtigsten Aktivitäten eines Unternehmens ist die Einstellung von fähigem Personal. Die eingestellten Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter bringen ihre Ausbildung, ihre Erfahrung und ihre Persönlichkeit mit und gestalten mit ihrem Talent die Zukunft des Unternehmens. «War for Talent», ein Konzept von Steven Hankin in 1997 erfunden, spiegelt die heutige Schwierigkeit wider, die Besten zu finden. 

Diskriminierung macht keinen Sinn

 

Eine Möglichkeit, um Talente zu finden, ist dort zu suchen, wo die Konkurrenz nicht hinschaut. Nachfolgend drei demographische Gruppen, die eine Unterschied im Unternehmen-Vergleich ausmachen:

 

Erstens, über 50-Jährige: Die Menschen leben länger und haben eine bessere Gesundheit. Das ermöglicht es ihnen, fit zu sein und länger zu arbeiten. Die über 50-Jährigen verfügen tatsächlich über Fähigkeiten, die ihre jüngeren Kollegen nicht besitzen. Die «Cogito-Stu- die» von 2010 (1) zeigt, dass die Produktivität älterer Menschen gleichmässiger ist als die der Jungen. Ältere Menschen haben eine grössere Fähigkeit, sich auf die Aufgabe zu konzentrieren, sind berechenbarer und gleichen die körperlichen und geistigen Veränderungen des Alters mit ihrer Erfahrung aus. Peter Capelli, Professor an der Wharton School of Business, sagt: «Alle Aspekte der Arbeitsleistung verbessern sich mit dem Alter. Diskriminierung älterer Menschen auf dem Arbeitsmarkt macht keinen Sinn.» 

 

Fähigkeiten von Immigranten nutzen 

 

Zweitens, die Immigranten: Weltweit haben Einwanderer eine höhere Gründungsrate als Staatsangehörige des Aufnahmelandes (2). William R. Kerr und Sari Pekkala von der Harvard Business School zeigen, dass einwanderungsgeführte Unternehmen in den USA schneller wachsen und langfristig eher überleben als Unternehmen, die nur von Einheimischen geführt werden (3). 

Einwanderer verfügen über eine hohe Anpassungsfähigkeit, Erfahrung mit verschiedenen Kulturen, sprechen verschiedene Sprachen und fühlen sich wohler bei Herausforderungen. Unternehmen können diese Fähigkeiten nutzen, wenn sie Immigranten einstellen. 

 

Die Frauen als Erfolgsgaranten 

 

Drittens, die Frauen: Frauen in Führungspositionen zu haben, macht einen gewichtigen Unterschied in der Wirtschaft aus. 

Laut einer Studie von Catalyst erhalten Unternehmen mit mehr Frauen im Vorstand durchschnittlich 66 Prozent mehr Rendite auf das investierte Kapital (4). Mitarbeiter, die für eine Frau arbeiten, engagieren sich bei ihrer Arbeit mehr (33 Prozent versus 27 Prozent) als solche, die einen Mann als Chef haben (5). 

 

Wettbewerbsfähig werden

 

Migranten und Frauen und Männer über 50 Jahre verfügen über einzigartige Fähigkeiten, um im Geschäftsleben erfolgreich zu sein. Die Suche nach diesen demografischen Gruppen ist eine Gelegenheit, wettbewerbsfähigere Unternehmen aufzubauen. 

 

 

(1) Cogito Study: https://www.ncbi.nlm. nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC2914582/
(2) https://www.gemconsortium.org/re- port/48545 

(3) https://www.hbs.edu/faculty/Publi- cation%20Files/17-011_da2c1cf4-a999- 4159-ab95-457c783e3fff.pdf
(4) https://www.catalyst.org/system/ files/The_Bottom_Line_Corporate_Per- formance_and_Womens_Representati- on_on_Boards.pdf 

(5) https://news.gallup.com/business- journal/183026/female-bosses-enga- ging-male-bosses.aspx 

Versteckte Talente auf dem Arbeitsmarkt: 

drei Strategien, um die Besten zu finden.